100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups

Police Woman of the Year

Who’d have believed it? A packed hall, a stage crowded with dignitaries and little, old me as ‘Guest of Honour’!

The introduction was mind blowing. Had I really achieved all those heroic feats? I suppose in twenty years of police work most people help a few folk. Head held high, I moved slowly, proudly down the aisle to tumultuous applause, every head turned towards me; up the steps and towards the microphone…

Applause turned to laughter, a great bellowing roar and the mayor leaned towards me, whispering,

“You’ve got your skirt tucked in the back of your knickers.”

Why does it always happen that way?

Ros Wilson

 

One thought on “100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups

Leave a Reply

